Everything Counts Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 24 Sep 2017 22:36:42 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Fri, Jun 09, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-09-2017.html 4.15 miles easy from home, avg pace 7:16/mile. Fri, 09 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 08, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-08-2017.html 10.8 miles easy on the shoreline trail in Ogden with Ben, avg pace 8:09/mile. It was hot and windy. Thu, 08 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 07, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-07-2017.html 9.5 miles on the Davis County section of the shoreline trail, avg pace 7:40/mile. My legs are still slightly sore, yet coming around. I LOVE the Brooks Caldera by the way! Wed, 07 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 06, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-06-2017.html No run - legs still sore. I did however play 45 minutes of ultimate frisbee with the young men. Tue, 06 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 05, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-05-2017.html 8 miles easy in Davis County with Ben, Jared, and Dave, avg pace 7:44/mile. My legs are more sore from my double mountain runs on Saturday than after any recent marathon I can remember...ouch. Mon, 05 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 03, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-03-2017.html <p>AM: 10.8 miles running to Lewis Peak from the North Ogden Divide in a new pair of Brooks Caldera, avg pace 7:41/mile. I pushed the pace roundtrip.</p> <p>PM: 6.7 miles running to Grandeur Peak from Millcreek Canyon, avg pace 10:55/mile. I pushed the uphill and very easy jog down. I&#39;m going to be sore tomorrow. I finished the week with just over 12,000 feet of elevation gain.</p> Sat, 03 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 02, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-02-2017.html <p>10 miles easy with Dave and Jared in South Ogden, avg pace 7:20/mile.</p> Fri, 02 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 01, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-01-2017.html 12.4 miles "recovery" on the trails with Ben, Dave, Jason, Matt, Tim, Jon, Kory, and Bret, avg pace 9:32/mile. We ran Coldwater Canyon from Ogden Nature Center then to divide and back straight CC again, gaining 2900 feet of elevation on the run. Dave was rungry and needed a Snickers! Thu, 01 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 31, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-31-2017.html WORKOUT: 20-MIN TEMPO, 4x3:00, 4x1:30 I met Ben, Dave, Jared, and Ken at Ken's office. We warmed up to Beus TH and then I ran my workout. 5 minutes rest between each phases of the workout and one to one rest in between the timed reps. I hit 5:07/mile on the tempo, 4:52/mile on the 3:00s, and 4:52/mile on the 1:30s. The route was rolling net downhill. Wed, 31 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 30, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-30-2017.html AM: 5.5 miles easy on the treadmill, I planned on more but the kids woke up and diapers needed changing and babies needed feeding etc. Hopefully more running this afternoon. PM: 6 miles after work, avg pace 6:37/mile. Tue, 30 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 29, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-29-2017.html <p>12.7 miles with a massive crew (Dave, Jason, Bret, Taylor, Moss, Jared, Albert, and Matt) up to Sardine Peak and Ogden Canyon Overlook, avg pace 7:56/mile and 2,250 elevation gain. So much fun!</p> Mon, 29 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 27, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-27-2017.html <p>AM: 10.3 miles from my house with 4-mile tempo down South Weber Drive, overall run pace 6:16/mile. For the tempo I ran 4:53, 5:03, 4:56, 4:49 and felt good, strong. It&#39;s been over a month since I&#39;ve felt &quot;normal&quot;, so this was a good sign.</p> <p>PM: 3.7 mile hike with my family and Denver from Ogden Canyon up the Indian Trail. Evelyn is an aerobic giant for her age. She handled the trail like a boss. Hannah did well too for a 4-year old, but needed some &quot;carrying&quot; from time to time from uncle Denver. I carried Nora on my back and Amy carried Iris in the baby swaddler. A lot of fun.</p> Sat, 27 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 26, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-26-2017.html <p>10.25 miles on the Indian Trail over and back from Rainbow to Ogden Canyon with Bret and Dave, avg pace 9:58/mile with 3,500 feet of elevation gain. I pushed the Ogden Canyon to Hut climb and bettered my Strava CR by 2:30.</p> Fri, 26 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 25, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-25-2017.html 10.25 miles easy with Dave and Jared in light rain, avg pace 7:14/mile. Thu, 25 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 24, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-24-2017.html 4.9 mile hike up Beus Canyon with Ken and Ben, gained over 2,000 feet. Wed, 24 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 23, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-23-2017.html <p>8.5 miles with Dave from Uintah Trailhead up BST to South Ogden, Nature Park, down Toll, and along Centennial Trail a bit, avg pace 7:03/mile.</p> Tue, 23 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 22, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-22-2017.html 4.5 miles hiking up the Indian Trail with Ken and Ben with 1,400 feet of gain. Legs feel pretty dang good actually. Mon, 22 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 20, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-20-2017.html <p>OGDEN MARATHON</p> <p>I didn&#39;t train at all for this race. I haven&#39;t done a long run of 20 miles since October! I didn&#39;t do any long tempos or marathon pace training. I also didn&#39;t do any downhill training. But this is my hometown race and I really enjoy it and I had the free VIP entry from winning last year. So I figured I&#39;d try to hit the podium and collect some circuit points. Ben, Bryant, and I ran the first half together in 1:13:10. At that point Bryant surged, wanting a huge negative split to attempt the course record, and Ben slowed down a bit. I kept chugging away at roughly the same pace. With my lack of marathon prep I was too scared to try anything faster, not wanting another miserable Ogden finish. I ended up with a slight negative split and finished about 80 seconds back of Bryant for 2nd place in 2:25:46. So second half in roughly 1:12:36. I felt decent the whole way. Cardio-wise the pace was a walk in the park, but the legs didn&#39;t have the full strength needed to really get after the pace. Overall, I am pleased with the result. Once I get some marathon training in, I&#39;ll be cruising this fall.</p> Sat, 20 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 19, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-19-2017.html <p>3 miles easy from Smith&#39;s, avg pace 7:02/mile. Picked up a dozen bagels at Einstein&#39;s after for today to carb up for tomorrow&#39;s marathon.</p> Fri, 19 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 18, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-18-2017.html 4.8 miles easy in Central Ogden with Ben and Jared, avg pace 7:49/mile. It was a whopping 28 Degrees this morning, so pretty much typical May weather! Thu, 18 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 17, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-17-2017.html 8.25 miles on the ORP with Ben, Dave, Ken, and Wolpert, avg pace 6:53/mile. Two miles at MP in middle at 5:26/mile. It snowed!!!! Wed, 17 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 16, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-16-2017.html 7 slow miles in the tready, avg pace 7:59/mile. I can't run very fast at all on the treadmill in the mornings. It's always substantially slower than had I gone outside. Tue, 16 May 2017 06:00:00 Mon, May 15, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-15-2017.html 9.4 miles easy in Clearfield/Layton with Ben, Dave, Jason, and Jared avg pace 7:25/mile. Mon, 15 May 2017 06:00:00 Sat, May 13, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-13-2017.html <p>9.9 miles on the Indian Trail and BST, avg pace 8:04/mile with almost 2k of elevation gain.</p> Sat, 13 May 2017 06:00:00 Fri, May 12, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-12-2017.html Marathon pace effort for six miles in the middle of an 11.3-mile run, avg pace for the whole run, 6:31/mile. Pace for the tempo, downhill, 5:15/mile. Fri, 12 May 2017 06:00:00 Thu, May 11, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-11-2017.html 10 miles easy with Ben in Ogden, from Kneaders up to 29th TH, along BST to Rainbow, and back on parkway, avg pace 7:59/mile. Take that 8-min guy! Thu, 11 May 2017 06:00:00 Wed, May 10, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-10-2017.html 12 miles easy with Dave in Ogden, avg pace 6:53/mile. I felt pretty decent this morning. Wed, 10 May 2017 06:00:00 Tue, May 09, 2017 http://RileyCook.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-09-2017.html <p>8.6 miles easy on the tready, avg pace 7:47/mile.</p> Tue, 09 May 2017 06:00:00